Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Large lodge · Inside the park, on its southern side beside a natural spring · Serena Hotels

Mid-range Inside the park Safari company

One of the two big lodges inside Amboseli, run by Serena Hotels on the southern side of the park. It is built beside a natural spring, with a terrace over a waterhole and rooms styled on a Maasai manyatta with hand-painted murals. The fact sheet counts 92 rooms, including the Ol Donyo Oibor Suite, three family rooms and nine sets of interconnecting rooms, and there is a heated pool, a spa and WiFi. Serena prices its extras openly, including a two-hour night drive at $95, but its headline 'from USD 154' gives no basis. Choose it for a large, family-friendly lodge inside the gate; ask for the meal plan and the room-or-person basis before you book.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Inside the park, on its southern side
  • Extras priced openly, from a $70 day drive to a $95 night drive
  • Family rooms, babysitting and children's menus
  • Heated pool, spa and WiFi
  • Terrace over a spring-fed waterhole

Cons

  • Headline rate gives no basis: per room or per person, meal plan unknown
  • Game drives cost extra, from $70 per person
  • No published child age bands
  • Airstrip is 9 km away

What's here

  • Swimming pool
  • Wi-Fi
  • Family rooms
  • Spa or massage

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Game drives
  • Guided walks
  • Night drives
  • Birding
  • Community visits

Read from Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Amboseli National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entryThe non-resident rate, per entry of up to 24 hours, flat all year since 1 October 2025.
$90per person, per day
VehicleKSh 600 a day for a car under six seats, about $4.60 at KSh 129.45 to the dollar.
$5per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $555 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

Leaving the park and driving back in buys a new ticket, so a lodge outside the gate can mean more fee days than nights.

The full fee schedule for Amboseli National Park

Rates at Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

From $154 (basis not stated). Serena's site showed 'from USD 154' for every room type on 4 October 2026 without saying whether that is per room or per person, or which meals it covers, so ask before you compare it. Extras priced on the lodge's own page: a day game drive of about two hours $70 per person, a night game drive of about two hours $95, a nature walk $25, a cultural talk from $25, a bush barbecue dinner $40 ($55 with drinks) and a sundowner at Observation Hill $55. Serena does not say whether the KWS conservation fee ($90 per non-resident adult per day under the October 2025 card) is included, so budget for it.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 4 October 2026 from each property's own website or rate card and from KWS's October 2025 conservation-fee card and 2025 Mbugani Homes rate card. Angama's 2026 rate comes from an archived copy of its rate page (captured August 2025), because the live site blocks automated reading. None of the figures is a reseller or agent rate; where a property publishes nothing, the entry says Rates on request, and the Budget, Mid-range or Top-end label then follows the style the property describes rather than a price. Booking.com was not checked for any property. Watch the basis: most camps quote per person sharing, the KWS units per unit and Kibo Villa per villa, and the KWS conservation fee of $90 per non-resident adult per day (October 2025 card) is extra almost everywhere, plus conservancy fees at the conservancy camps.

Official website ↗

Questions about Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

Is Amboseli Serena inside the park?

Yes. Serena says it is located in the heart of Amboseli National Park, KWS lists it among the park's privately owned lodges, and it stands on the southern side of the park. That means no gate queue in the morning, though the KWS conservation fee of $90 per non-resident adult applies for every day you stay.

Is Amboseli Serena good for families?

Its own pages list three family rooms for two adults and two children, nine sets of interconnecting rooms, babysitting and children's menus. We found no published child age bands or child rates, so ask for them when you request a quote.

How much is a game drive at Amboseli Serena?

Serena's own page prices a day game drive of about two hours at $70 per person and a night game drive of about two hours at $95, with a nature walk at $25 and a sundowner at Observation Hill at $55. Amboseli airstrip (inside the park; KWS calls it Kimana airstrip) is 9 km from the lodge, according to its fact sheet.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge

From $154 basis not stated

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.

Prefer to book yourself? It is also on Booking.com ↗.