Money, honestly
What a visit to Amboseli actually costs
Two of you, your own car and a tent, three nights at the KWS public campsite inside Amboseli: about $734 in fees at 2026 rates, before fuel and food. This page shows where each dollar goes, then prices the same three nights at a mid-range camp outside Kimana Gate and at a fly-in camp on the Kitirua Conservancy. One rule shapes every budget here: a KWS ticket covers a single entry of up to 24 hours, so every time you drive back into the park you pay again.
If you only want the answer
For two people self-driving with their own camping kit, three nights at the KWS public campsite in Amboseli cost about $734 in 2026: $540 in conservation fees at $90 per person per 24 hours, $180 in camping at $30 per person per night and about $14 in vehicle fees. Fuel, food and the car come on top. The same three nights cost about $1,514 at Sungura Safari Camp outside Kimana Gate, where each day in the park is a fresh ticket, and about $6,794 on Tortilis's high-season game package with Safarilink flights, before the Kitirua conservancy fee.
Budget one: self-drive camping at the KWS public campsite
About $734 for two people over three nights, and here is the arithmetic. The conservation fee is $90 per non-resident adult for a single entry of up to 24 hours, on the KWS card in force since 1 October 2025 and still current on 4 October 2026. Amboseli's one public campsite, near the park office in the centre of the park, costs $30 per adult per night, more than the $20 charged in most KWS parks, and KWS's brochure says it needs no booking. The vehicle fee for anything under six seats is KSh 600 a day, about $4.60, the same for every visitor.
Because you sleep inside, the three nights are billed as three consecutive 24-hour periods. Enter after lunch on day one, leave before the same hour on day four, and you pay for three. Linger at the swamps past that hour on the way out and two of you owe another $180.
| Line item | Per day (2 people) | 3 nights (2 people) |
|---|---|---|
| Conservation fee (2 × $90, KWS card, Oct 2025) | $180 | $540 |
| KWS public campsite (2 × $30, KWS card, Oct 2025) | $60 | $180 |
| Vehicle under 6 seats (KSh 600, ±$4.60 at KSh 129.45, KWS card) | ±$5 | ±$14 |
| Total | ±$245 | ±$734 |
This total is what KWS charges. Fuel, food and the car itself come on top: from Nairobi it is 208 km each way to Iremito Gate by the router, 204 km by KWS's own figure, and there is no fuel inside the park, so fill up in Emali, Kimana or Namanga. Buy food before the gate too, because driving out to a shop and back in costs a new ticket.
Budget two: a mid-range bed on the Kimana edge, paying to re-enter
About $1,514 for two people over three nights. Most of Amboseli's mid-range beds stand in the strip of camps just outside Kimana Gate, on community land, and the only one there that publishes a rate is Sungura Safari Camp: $320 for a twin or double tent per night on its booking page, read on 4 October 2026. The page does not state the meal basis, so ask before you book. You drive yourself, arriving from Nairobi by Emali and Kimana town, 240 km to Kimana Gate.
Sleeping outside changes the fee maths. Each morning you drive in through Kimana Gate is a new 24-hour ticket, and a ticket dies when you leave, however many hours it has left. The budget below assumes you check in on the afternoon of day one without entering the park, spend days two and three inside, and take a last morning drive on day four on your way out: three entries, $540 for two. Drive back to camp for lunch and in again for the afternoon and that day costs two tickets, another $180.
| Line item | Per day (2 people) | 3 nights (2 people) |
|---|---|---|
| Sungura Safari Camp, twin tent, meal basis not stated (booking page, 4 Oct 2026) | $320 | $960 |
| Conservation fee, three entries (2 × $90, KWS card, Oct 2025) | $180 | $540 |
| Vehicle under 6 seats (KSh 600, ±$4.60) | ±$5 | ±$14 |
| Total | ±$505 | ±$1,514 |
For about $180 more, sleep inside. Ol Tukai Lodge, in the centre of the park, charges $380 per double room full board from 1 April to 31 May 2026 on its rack rate card dated 6 August 2026, and as a guest inside you pay three consecutive 24-hour periods with no re-entry risk: three nights come to about $1,694 with the same fees and vehicle. In the peak season from 1 June to 31 October the room is $650 and the total about $2,504.
Budget three: fly in to Tortilis on the Kitirua Conservancy
About $6,794 for two people over three high-season nights, flights included, before one fee nobody publishes. This budget is written for the traveller who flies in. Elewana's Tortilis Camp stands on the western edge of the park, overlooking its own 30,000-acre Kitirua Conservancy, and its 2026 game package, which adds shared drives, activities and transfers from the airstrip to full board, costs $915 per person per night from 1 July to 31 October. Safarilink flies from Nairobi Wilson to the Amboseli airstrip (HKAM) daily at 07:15, landing at 08:00, for $205 single or $352 return in 2026, plus $11 to $15 tax per sector.
The airstrip lies inside the park, about 45 minutes' drive from camp, so the transfers in and out pass through the park, and we count each as an entry. The table assumes three: arrival day, one full day in the park and the last morning, with a day of drives and walks on the conservancy in between. Elewana excludes park, conservancy and camping fees, and publishes no current Kitirua conservancy fee, so that line stays open. In the green season, 1 April to 31 May, the package drops to $517 and the same trip to about $4,406.
| Line item | Per day (2 people) | 3 nights (2 people) |
|---|---|---|
| Tortilis game package, high season (2 × $915, Elewana 2026 rates) | $1,830 | $5,490 |
| Conservation fee, three entries (2 × $90, KWS card, Oct 2025) | $180 | $540 |
| Kitirua conservancy fee | Not published | Ask Elewana |
| Safarilink, Wilson to Amboseli return for two (2 × $352, 2026 timetable) | $704 | |
| Safarilink departure tax, $11 to $15 per sector, four sectors | up to $60 | |
| Total before the conservancy fee | ±$6,794 |
Airkenya flies the same route daily (P2 883, 07:30 from Wilson, 08:05 at Amboseli) but publishes no fare. Both airlines allow 15 kg per person in soft bags. At the very top, Angama Amboseli in the Kimana Sanctuary charges $1,850 per guest per night in 2026 with drives in the park included, plus a Kimana Conservation Levy of $60 per adult per night, $20 a night for its foundation and the KWS fee; Safarilink's Kimana stop costs $436 return and needs four passengers or a supplement.
The 24-hour rule, and why sleeping inside can cost less
KWS defines its daily fee as payment for a single access to a park, valid for no more than 24 hours. Two things follow. A stay inside the park is billed as back-to-back 24-hour periods, so three nights at the campsite, a KWS cottage or Ol Tukai cost three tickets per person. And leaving ends a ticket: drive out to Kimana for fuel, to a camp outside the gate for lunch, or to a conservancy for the afternoon, and coming back in costs another $90 per adult.
That is why the cheapest bed is not always the cheapest stay. Ten places to stay sit inside the boundary: Ol Tukai, Amboseli Serena, Soroi, Kibo Villa, five KWS self-catering units and the public campsite. Everything else is outside, and a guest outside pays for every separate day in the park. The two combination tickets help only if your route includes Tsavo: Tsavo West plus Amboseli is $150 per non-resident adult, and Tsavo East, Tsavo West and Amboseli $215.
The approach: what the road and the plane cost you
By road from Nairobi there are two routes of about the same length. Via Emali on the Mombasa Road (A8) it is 208 km to Iremito Gate by the router, the last 21 km on gravel; via Namanga on the A2 it is 214 km to Meshanani Gate, the last 49 to 51 km on gravel. Allow four to five hours either way. Kimana Gate, 240 km from Nairobi by Emali and Kimana town, is the gate for the camps on the eastern edge and for the 74 km link to Tsavo West's Chyulu Gate.
By air, the scheduled flights leave from Wilson Airport, not from Jomo Kenyatta International; the two are about 16 km apart by road, which takes 45 to 90 minutes in Nairobi traffic. Safarilink's Amboseli fare is the same in high and low season, $205 single, though its afternoon flight runs only in the high season, 16 December to 31 March and 1 July to 31 October. Children aged 2 to 11 pay 75 per cent of the fare.
Paying at the gate: cashless, so prepay
KWS sends self-organised visitors to KWSPay at kwspay.ecitizen.go.ke, which takes M-Pesa, a Visa card or a bank transfer through KCB, ABSA or Equity. Enter the vehicle registration and the exact entry date, and carry the e-ticket with the passport it was issued against. KWS printed 'mode of payment: cashless' on its 2022-23 and 2024 fee cards, and it does not say whether a gate can sell you a ticket on the spot, so arrive with one.
Expect a small charge on top. Tour operators reported a KWSPay processing fee of 5 to 8.5 per cent in November 2025, which KWS's own documents do not mention. If you are on a package tour, KWS's FAQ says the operator includes the park fees in your safari price, so check your quote rather than paying twice.
Where the money surprises people
- Driving back in costs a new ticket. A lunch break at a camp outside Kimana Gate turns one $180 day for two into two.
- The car is nearly free and the people are not: KSh 600 a day for the vehicle, about $4.60, against $540 of conservation fees for two people over three days.
- The cheapest legal night inside the park is $120 per adult: $30 of camping plus the $90 conservation fee. The tent is the small line.
- A KWS cottage for two costs $110 a night, $55 each, which makes Simba or Chui Cottage the cheapest roof inside the park.
- The $100 entry fee quoted on many sites was struck down by the High Court in August 2024. The real fee is $90, and before October 2025 it was $60.
- Conservancy levies can match a park day. Selenkay's runs to $130 per person per night (included in Porini's rates) and the Kimana levy to $60 a night at Angama, both on top of the $90 park fee whenever you drive into Amboseli.
- A drone costs $300 per day and needs a KCAA licence first. Vehicle recovery inside the park is KSh 10,500, about $81.
Sources
- KWS Conservation Fees 2025, in force 1 October 2025 (checked 4 Oct 2026)
- KWS Amboseli National Park page (checked 4 Oct 2026)
- KWSPay on eCitizen, the official prepayment channel
- Sungura Safari Camp booking page (checked 4 Oct 2026)
- Ol Tukai Lodge 2026 non-resident rack rates (checked 4 Oct 2026)
- Elewana Tortilis Camp rates and seasons 2026 (checked 4 Oct 2026)
- Safarilink Timetable and Fares 2026 (checked 4 Oct 2026)
- Airkenya Flight Schedule 2026 (checked 4 Oct 2026)