Sungura Safari Camp
Tented suites and cottages · Kimana side, near Kimana Gate beside AA Lodge and Sentrim · Not stated on its site
A 26-room camp of tented suites and solid-wall cottages near Kimana Gate, and one of the few on this side of the park that publishes its prices: $320 a night for a double tent, $160 each. Its own wording is muddled. It says it lies 'just inside the AA Lodge Gate' and calls itself one of the biggest camps in Amboseli National Park, yet KWS lists only Iremito, Kimana and Meshanani as the park's road gates, and the neighbours Sungura names, AA Lodge and Sentrim, both stand outside. It sits outside the gate on that evidence, whatever its own pages say. KWS includes it among the park's private lodges. Choose it for a published mid-range price near Kimana; confirm the meal plan first.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Publishes unit prices, from $160 each sharing
- Solid-wall cottages for anyone who prefers walls
- A family tent among the 18 tents
- Close to Kimana Gate for an early start
Cons
- Sits outside the park despite its 'just inside' wording
- Meal basis of the published rates not stated
- Operator and owner not named on the site
- We found no published child policy
What's here
- Family rooms
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
- Community visits
Read from Sungura Safari Camp's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Amboseli National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entryThe non-resident rate, per entry of up to 24 hours, flat all year since 1 October 2025.
- $90per person, per day
- VehicleKSh 600 a day for a car under six seats, about $4.60 at KSh 129.45 to the dollar.
- $5per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $555 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
Leaving the park and driving back in buys a new ticket, so a lodge outside the gate can mean more fee days than nights.
The full fee schedule for Amboseli National ParkRates at Sungura Safari Camp
From $160 pppn. Booking-page rates read on 4 October 2026, per unit per night: $320 for a twin or double tent, which is $160 each for two, $220 for a single tent or cottage, $400 for a triple tent and $620 for the family tent. The homepage advertises all-inclusive safaris but the booking page does not state the meal basis, so ask. The camp does not say whether park entry is included; the KWS conservation fee is $90 per non-resident adult per day under the October 2025 card.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked on 4 October 2026 from each property's own website or rate card and from KWS's October 2025 conservation-fee card and 2025 Mbugani Homes rate card. Angama's 2026 rate comes from an archived copy of its rate page (captured August 2025), because the live site blocks automated reading. None of the figures is a reseller or agent rate; where a property publishes nothing, the entry says Rates on request, and the Budget, Mid-range or Top-end label then follows the style the property describes rather than a price. Booking.com was not checked for any property. Watch the basis: most camps quote per person sharing, the KWS units per unit and Kibo Villa per villa, and the KWS conservation fee of $90 per non-resident adult per day (October 2025 card) is extra almost everywhere, plus conservancy fees at the conservancy camps.
Questions about Sungura Safari Camp
Is Sungura Safari Camp inside Amboseli National Park?
No, on the evidence. Sungura says it is 'just inside the AA Lodge Gate', but there is no KWS gate of that name: KWS lists Iremito, Kimana and Meshanani. The camp also says it is south-east of the park near Kimana Gate, beside AA Lodge and Sentrim, both of which stand outside. Expect to drive through Kimana Gate and pay the park fee each day.
How much does Sungura Safari Camp cost?
Its booking page showed, on 4 October 2026, $320 a night for a twin or double tent, $220 for a single tent or cottage, $400 for a triple and $620 for the family tent. The page does not state the meal basis, although the homepage advertises all-inclusive safaris, so confirm what the price covers.
Which airstrip is closest to Sungura Safari Camp?
Sungura names two: the park's main strip, which it places near Empusel Gate, and Kimana airstrip, which it describes as serving the south-eastern side close to Kimana Sanctuary. The first is Amboseli airstrip (inside the park; KWS calls it Kimana airstrip); the second is the separate airfield in the Kimana Sanctuary.