Campi ya Kanzi
Luxury tented cottages and suites · Chyulu Hills, on 400,000 acres of Maasai-owned land · Campi ya Kanzi, owned by the Maasai Wilderness Conservation Trust
A Chyulu Hills camp that describes itself as co-owned with the Maasai community and owned by the Maasai Wilderness Conservation Trust, on 400,000 acres of Maasai-owned land well beyond the park. Six tented cottages and two suites make it small, and the activities belong to the hills rather than the swamps: guided walks, cloud-forest walks, horseback riding, lookout-hill excursions, dinners in a lava-tube cave and game drives in electric vehicles. Its own aircraft flies scenic trips over Kilimanjaro, Amboseli and Tsavo. The rate page starts at $1,100 'double occupancy' in the green season without saying whether that is per person or per cottage. Choose it for community ownership and the hills; ask exactly what the price covers.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Community co-ownership stated on its own site
- Walking, riding and cloud-forest walks
- Scenic flights in its own aircraft
- A child in a third bed pays half
- Only 8 units
Cons
- Rate basis unclear: per person or per cottage
- Inclusions not stated on the rate page
- In the Chyulu Hills, far from Amboseli's swamps
- Treatment of conservation and park fees not stated
What's here
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
- Guided walks
Read from Campi ya Kanzi's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Amboseli National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entryThe non-resident rate, per entry of up to 24 hours, flat all year since 1 October 2025.
- $90per person, per day
- VehicleKSh 600 a day for a car under six seats, about $4.60 at KSh 129.45 to the dollar.
- $5per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $555 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
Leaving the park and driving back in buys a new ticket, so a lodge outside the gate can mean more fee days than nights.
The full fee schedule for Amboseli National ParkRates at Campi ya Kanzi
From $1,100 (basis not stated). Own rate page, read 4 October 2026, 'Double Occupancy' per night for a tented cottage: $1,100 green season (April, May, November), $1,250 mid (11 January to 31 March), $1,500 high (June to October, December); suites $1,250, $1,400 and $1,950. The single supplement and a child under 17 in a third bed are each $550 to $750 by season. The page does not say whether 'Double Occupancy' is per person or per cottage, what is included, or how conservation and park fees are handled, so confirm all three before comparing it with other camps.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked on 4 October 2026 from each property's own website or rate card and from KWS's October 2025 conservation-fee card and 2025 Mbugani Homes rate card. Angama's 2026 rate comes from an archived copy of its rate page (captured August 2025), because the live site blocks automated reading. None of the figures is a reseller or agent rate; where a property publishes nothing, the entry says Rates on request, and the Budget, Mid-range or Top-end label then follows the style the property describes rather than a price. Booking.com was not checked for any property. Watch the basis: most camps quote per person sharing, the KWS units per unit and Kibo Villa per villa, and the KWS conservation fee of $90 per non-resident adult per day (October 2025 card) is extra almost everywhere, plus conservancy fees at the conservancy camps.
Questions about Campi ya Kanzi
How much does Campi ya Kanzi cost?
Its rate page lists a tented cottage at $1,100 'double occupancy' in the green season (April, May and November), $1,250 from 11 January to 31 March and $1,500 from June to October and in December; suites run $1,250 to $1,950. The page does not say whether that is per person or per cottage, or what it includes, so ask.
Is Campi ya Kanzi good for families?
Its rate page charges a child under 17 in a third bed $550 to $750 a night by season, half the cottage rate. We found no published minimum age.
Is Campi ya Kanzi in Amboseli National Park?
No. It stands in the Chyulu Hills on Maasai-owned land and is sold as part of the wider Amboseli region. Its site does not say whether its game drives enter Amboseli National Park, so ask before you plan park days.